Wii Love Valentines

wiiAs hinted yesterday, Sunday morning I was casually flipping through the Sunday ads when I saw this. I casually took a sip of my hot chocolate and casually asked, “so how much are those Wii things that you’ve been trying to find?” To which the Doctor replied, “Around $300, why?” and I continued to be ever so calm and I said “Just wondering, they had the x-box thingy in this one and I didn’t know how they compared” ’cause I’m just that smooth.

A few minutes later I got up, went to the bedroom got dressed and returned to the kitchen and announced, “I’m going to Circuit City to get that hard-drive that’s on sale so I can back-up all that music you’ve ripped.” He looks up and raises an eyebrow, “Are they open this early.” to which I smile coyly…”No, but they are right by Target.” Man am I good.

So I got to TRU at 9:30 (they opened at 10:00) and no one was outside. Good or Bad I wasn’t sure. Then I noticed there were lots of car with people in them. Bad. One fellow was standing by the door. I walked up. “Have the given out tickets?” – he didn’t have to ask for what he just said he didn’t know. He had just hung up with his Dad in Atlanta and they had there, his Dad had one.

A few minutes later a couple left their car and walked up. They had a merchandise slip. Damn.

I asked if they had given them all out, the boy said, “Yes.” The girl smacked him. “No,” she smiled, “He’s an ass. They have 40 units and I’d guess that he gave out about 12 before when they came out. You should have no problem” We continued to chat. She had been looking for weeks… etc… Then more people started to come up. All with tales of waiting in lines and being disappointed. Was today the day they got lucky?

The woman behind me in line was at least 65 closer to 70. She was buying it for herself and her husband. They had played at a friends house last week and loved it. Behind her in line was a dad and his 6 year old boy. I thought to myself man what a product they’ve got everyone from a 6 year old to a 65 year old standing in line and the darn thing has been out for more than a year.

Well let me tell you it was worth it!

Wii had the best Valentines! And if I can recover from my Guitar Hero induced carpel tunnel I’ll post some pics of MY FREAKING PARENTS playing a video game. Something I never in my 41 years thought I would see.

Leave a Reply

