Perfect Camera for Summer

Last year I bought a new “purse” camera to bring along with me on a daily basis because bringing the big Nikon DSLR just doesn’t make sense all the time. I bought a Casio Exilim EX-Z77 and ended up being pretty disappointed. I never loved it but I chalked that up to being spoiled by my D50. As time went by I noticed the pictures were getting less and less sharp until finally this spring it got to where I might has well have been using a disposal camera from the drug store.

I plan on calling Casio and seeing if they will do something to make it right since I’ve had it less than a year but frankly I’m not holding out a lot of hope and have decided to move on.

Last year at Disney we noticed a lady in the pool with a waterproof digital camera and the idea has been sticking with me since then. We are in and out of pools and beaches and all kinds of wet situations so I thought it might be worth looking into.  After doing a little research we decided to go for the Olympus Stylus 790SW 7.1MP Waterproof Digital Camera and boy is this baby sweet!

It’s waterproof, shockproof, freeze proof, dust proof, sand proof, worry proof. After reading the reviews on Amazon I was excited about the idea that not only did I not have to worry about the kids dropping it if they tried to use it.

After giving it a test run today I’m pretty excited about it. We took all kinds of fun pictures while in the pool. And I have to say that it’s incredibly fun to be able to have the camera in the pool with you and not sweat getting splashed.

P6140011

 P6140007

 P6140014

And maybe the best part is the ability to take underwater video. How fun is that!! Check this out:

 

Look for more water shots as the summer goes on.

One thought on “Perfect Camera for Summer

  1. Wow, it takes really good pictures. You would think that being waterproof would compromise the quality or something, but they look great!

Leave a Reply

