One of the things you won’t find in a pregnancy/parenting book

At some point your sweet angel who’s been doing a brilliant job with her potty training and who has not needed help in weeks will one day wait a little too long to sprint for the bathroom. And the pee will arrive before she does.

And she will cry with disappointment and shock despite your soothing reassurance that “It’s okay.” And as you are stripping the sodden shorts and panties from her body, you will realize what it is that she really needs from you.

And no matter how posh or polished you are that day, you will ignore the stray puddles on the floor as you sit down wearing your newly pressed pants. And as you lean your back against the toilet you will not think about your hair brushing against the toilet seat while you reach over and pull her damp bottom onto your lap and wrap your arms around her and gently rock her and whisper sweet songs in her ear while she gulps beginning to calm down.

Because you have seen those monsters at the door, the ones named Embarrassment and Self-Loathing. And you know that the best defense a Mama has is to create a fortress in your arms of steel and hold her tight and show her that it matters not one iota that there is pee on her, or the floor, or on you. That pee happens. And that you love her above all else no matter what.

And then after she’s quieted down to gentle sniffles, her tears dried, she will suddenly hear the Backyardigans theme song waft from the living room and immediately pop up and run away careless and naked into the other room as if the whole thing never happened. And you will sit there in the wet knowing you have done your job.

15 thoughts on “One of the things you won’t find in a pregnancy/parenting book

  1. Lovely. Simply lovely.

  2. Amen to that. A wonderful story! You absolutely did the right thing (not that I need to tell you that, but you certainly did). Your daughter is a lucky girl to have such a caring and compassionate mama.

  3. What a great mama! You did good, it was exactly what she needed.

  4. amen.
    Beautifully written. Congrats on being the newest Little Fish!

  5. Aww, you made my eyes leak. Simply beautiful.

  6. You say “And you know that the best defense a Mama has is to..” Can you tell me why so many parenting websites are gender biased in this way? As a very involved and hands-on father, I am becoming exhausted with being excluded from the text of virtually every conversation regarding parenting. Can you enlighten me?

  7. Well Jef
    This was a story that happened to me. And I’m a girl. And since it was about me I said “Mama”… if the story had been about my husband and I was telling the story then I would have said “Daddy.”
    Nothing sinister going on here, just plain old storytelling.
    And yes I believe my husband would have been just as likely to have done the same in that moment. He’s put in his time as a stay-at-home-dad during a different stage in our lives and he’s not afraid or opposed to getting in there and getting real.

  8. Thanks for dropping by my wee corner and congratulations on the award, it’s well deservedd.
    This is beautifully written and so true. I love to lie with my daughter at night and make up stories and just try to block out the thousand or so things in my head needing to be done. It’s difficult soometimes to stop “running” the house and just be with your kids. This really is beautiful.

  9. Aw, what a good mama!

  10. I just found your blog and am really enjoying it! I can so relate to this story! Thanks for sharing it.

  11. Thanks Michelle
    Glad You stopped by. Hopped over to your blog and now I’m officially hooked.

  12. What a tremendous (and oh so very true!) ode to Motherhood.

  13. Awww. Tears in my eyes. What a well written post!

Leave a Reply

