Tough Times Don’t Last, Tough People Do

I’m considering making that my new tag line.

This week we reached a terrible milestone for the Terrible Thing That Happened. It was inevitable and it has been coming for sometime now. But that didn’t make it any less awful.

It didn’t change my day to day life in any particular way other than to solidify what has been in the works so I was surprised at it’s depressive effects. I guess it’s just one of those things that no matter how intellectually ready you are, emotionally you never can be.

I’ve been talking to the girls a lot lately about “hard” – learning to ride a bike is hard, not talking in class is hard. My answer that came out of nowhere a few weeks ago before I knew I was even saying it was “Hard never stopped me from doing anything ever before, It just means try harder.”

I shocked myself with that one. Then I sat back and realized it’s true. I’ve never been the sort of person who did not rise to the challenge. I never let “hard” deter me from something I really wanted.(even when I was better off not wanting some of those things)

And so this is what I’ve been doing to remind myself that I can get through this. That I can bring my children through it also. Hard never stopped me before.

It just meant try harder.

Do more.

Change.

Leave a Reply

